“With man gone, will there be hope for gorilla?” …asks Ishmael


Image

Ishmael. Started reading it yesterday. 20 pages down the way and I have begun realizing it would be one hell of a journey. An excerpt from the book —

That evening I went for a walk. To walk for the sake of walking is something I seldom do. Inside my apartment I’d felt inexplicably anxious. I needed to talk to someone, to be assured. Or perhaps I needed to confess my sin. I was once again having impure thoughts about saving the world. Or it was neither of these – I was afraid I was dreaming. I sometimes fly in my dreams, and each time I say to myself, “At last – it’s happening in reality and not in a dream!”

Daniel Quinn has indeed written a beautiful and insightful piece of philosophy!

Leave a Reply

